dukeengageseattle2012

A great WordPress.com site

Cream cheese hotdogs! – Seattle Week 1

Week one in Seattle has ended, and it has been a hectic one. I feel like I have already done so much, yet there is still so much more to be done. I have walked up and down “The Ave” (which is everything I wish 9th Street was), eaten a ton of food, gone thrifting, and jay-walked across my fair share of streets (!). But best of all, I started working with the kids at the Museum of Flight, and although the trek down there takes me an hour via public transportation (and requires a whole lot of money!), the kids are definitely worth it. They’re adorable and have a wild imagination. At times, they can be crazy and distracted, but that’s just a natural part of working with kids. Most of them know more about planes and space shuttles than I do – I feel like I’m on that show “Are you smarter than a 5th grader?”, and I’m constantly losing. The museum is a fantastic facility, though, and I can’t wait to learn more from them. I’m hoping that by the end of my 8 weeks, I’ll be an aviation and space expert.

Outside of work, I have explored some great places in Seattle. We learned about the history of the International District and attempted to write a 10-word story on our experience. Needless to say, my work was not a masterpiece. The district was a good start to my adventures here, and I look forward to exploring all the other neighborhoods that Seattle has to offer (that I can fit into our busy schedules).

We also watched the Olympic Diving Trials, which was particularly exciting because some Dukies were competing (congrats to them for qualifying!), and attended a Duke alum welcome party. It was nice to see the expansiveness of the Duke network, even in a place so far away from “home”.

Besides that, I went out on the town with a friend here and tried cream cheese hotdogs for the first time! It sounds gross, yes, I thought the exact same thing. But it was surprisingly good and is definitely something worth trying. The food is a definite plus here – there are a plethora of restaurants that I look forward to visiting. I know I will never be at a loss when it comes to food.

Yesterday, I visited the EMP Museum, which despite the kind of high price, is definitely worth seeing. The sound lab was a great place to relax and have fun, and the Avatar exhibit was particularly interesting for me. Seeing how the film was made was fascinating – the effects in it are insane.

On an unrelated note, the weather here is quite cold. I hadn’t expected it to be this cool, so the one thin blanket I brought was definitely not enough. Next time I come here, I’ll remember to pack a thicker blanket. Rain seems like it’s just a part of life here; everyone basically continues on with their daily routines as if the rain does not exist. It’s an interesting shift from Durham, but I’m definitely not missing the 95+ degree weather back at home.

Looking forward to seeing more…

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 28, 2012 by .
